The Superiorland Ski Club was founded in 1992 as a charitable non-profit organization with a 501(c)3 tax status. This tax status assures that all donations and sponsorship contributions are tax deductible to the fullest extent provided by law.

Since that time, the Superiorland Ski Club has been dedicated to youth skiing and has resulted in serving an average of 125 youth skiers annually in our Nordic Ski Programs. These programs teach youth to ski, and enjoy and appreciate the winter and great outdoors. The club also provided coaching and support to US Junior National hopeful skiers. In 1997 the club hosted the Junior Olympics at Suicide Bowl in Ishpeming, Michigan and again in 2000 at Al Quaal in Ishpeming, Michigan. The club now funds and organizes the Marquette Senior High School Nordic Ski Team and hosts the Michigan High School Nordic Skiing Championships every 3 years. The club has produced many individual and team champions.

The club hosted the 2004 US Masters Nationals at Blueberry Ridge in Sands Township and at Al Quaal in Ishpeming. The Superiorland Ski Club was also the founding organization for the Lake Superior Shore Run in 1994, the Noquemanon Ski Marathon in 1999, and the Ore to Shore Mountain Bike Epic in 2000, and the Junior Noque in 2004, providing sponsorship and volunteers to grow these events to their status as premier silent sports events for citizen athletes in the upper Great Lakes.

Annual Club Award Recepients:
2013: Lifetime Achievement- Daniel Wiitala
Volunteer of the Year- Dennis Whitley
Skier of the Year- Mik Kilpela

2012: Lifetime Achievement – Beverly Laughna
Volunteer of the Year – Ingrid Fjeldheim
Skier of the Year – MSHS Nordic Ski Team

2011: Lifetime Achievement – Bob Mahaney
Volunteer of the Year – Rick Kauppila
Skier of the Year – Greg Nelson

2010: Lifetime Achievement – Paul Hannuksela
Volunteer of the Year – Debby Muskovitch
Skier of the Year – Ellen Wiitala

2009: Lifetime Achievement – Sten Fjeldheim
Volunteer of the Year – Craig Stien
Skier of the Year – Zach Wagner

2008: Lifetime Achievement – Jon Nelson
Volunteer of the Year – Rich Uren
Skier of the Year – Tom McFadden

2007: Lifetime Achievement – Dr. Don Hurst
Volunteer of the Year – Sam Graci, Sr.
Skier of the Year – Matt Weier

Upcoming Events

Xterra Lake Superior Shore Run- Saturday, September 27th, 2014 at Little Presque Isle.Β  This will be the events 20th year! For more information or to register see our new Lake Superior Shore Run website: www.lakesuperiorshorerun.com

calendar View our Calendar to see more upcoming events.

Stay In Touch